Thank you for using eradoc, a platform to publish electronic copies of the Rothamsted Documents. Your requested document has been scanned from original documents. If you find this document is not readible, or you suspect there are some problems, please let us know and we will correct that.



# Report for 1973 - Part1

ROTHAMSTED
EXPERIMENTAL STATION

BERGET FOR 1973

PART 1

PART 10

ASSOCIATED AND STATE ASSOCIATED ASSOCIATED

Full Table of Content

## The Lawes Agricultural Trust; Trustees and Committee

### **Rothamsted Research**

Rothamsted Research (1974) *The Lawes Agricultural Trust; Trustees and Committee;* Report For 1973 - Part1, pp 4 - 5 - **DOI:** https://doi.org/10.23637/ERADOC-1-130

## THE LAWES AGRICULTURAL TRUST

In 1889, John Bennet Lawes set up the Lawes Agricultural Trust, with the main purpose of ensuring that the work he and Joseph Henry Gilbert had been doing at Rothamsted would continue. He did not, however, limit it to the continuation of such work but gave it wider terms of reference: 'scientific investigation and experiments in connection with agriculture embracing all or any subjects connected with or bearing upon agriculture, animal, vegetable, physiology, meteorology, botany and chemistry, and the objects of such investigation may be from time to time extended or varied as the committee shall determine'. He restricted the Trust from using its resources for educational work; they should be 'confined exclusively to original investigation and research with the view of advancing the science of agriculture'.

He endowed the Trust with £100 000, part of the proceeds of the sale some years earlier of his fertiliser business. He also leased to the Trust for a 'peppercorn rent' about 50 acres of land on which the most important experiments were being done, and allowed the Trust to rent much of the remainder of the estate at an economic rent. (The whole estate was bought by the Trust in 1934.)

He appointed three men as trustees (Sir John Lubbock, Williams Wells and John Evans) and the deed laid down that new trustees to replace any of the three should be appointed by the Royal Society.

Lawes also decided that the Trust should have a Committee of Management, to be called the Lawes Agricultural Trust Committee, to consist of nine persons, and that four should be appointed by the Royal Society, two by the Royal Agricultural Society of England, one by the Linnean Society and one by the Chemical Society. The ninth person was to be Lawes himself, and after his death, the owner of the Rothamsted Manor House. After the Trust bought the Manor House, the Director of the Station, who had acted as Honorary Secretary to the Trust Committee, became the ninth member. Members of the Trust Committee are appointed for five years but are eligible for re-appointment.

The Lawes Agricultural Trust Committee acts as the governing body of Rothamsted Experimental Station. It normally meets four times a year, twice at Rothamsted, once at Woburn or Broom's Barn, and once in London. The names of the trustees and members of the Committee are given opposite, and against the name of the member of the Committee is an indication of the body responsible for his appointment.

#### TRUSTEES

HIS GRACE THE DUKE OF NORTHUMBERLAND, K.G., T.D., F.R.S.

SIR EDWARD SALISBURY, C.B.E., D.Sc., LL.D., F.R.S.

LT.-COL. SIR RICHARD VERDIN, O.B.E., T.D., D.L.

## LAWES AGRICULTURAL TRUST COMMITTEE

LT.-COL. SIR RICHARD VERDIN, O.B.E., T.D., D.L. (Chairman)2

THE RIGHT HONOURABLE THE LORD DE RAMSEY, T.D. (Treasurer)2

PROFESSOR C. T. INGOLD, C.M.G., F.L.S.3

PROFESSOR K. MATHER, C.B.E., F.R.S.1

PROFESSOR W. T. J. MORGAN, C.B.E., F.R.S.1

SIR GORDON SUTHERLAND, LL.D., F.R.S.1

Dr. L. E. SUTTON, F.R.S.4

PROFESSOR SIR VINCENT WIGGLESWORTH, C.B.E., F.R.S.<sup>1</sup>

Dr. L. FOWDEN, F.R.S. (Secretary)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Royal Society

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The Royal Agricultural Society of England

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The Linnean Society

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> The Chemical Society